Getting Closer

I’m a few weeks away from the one year mark.

Soooo, I’m open to suggestions on how to celebrate and what to get myself as a ‘one year treat.’ I’d like it to be something that will be a lasting memento. Hmmmm.

A quick update on my word of the year, “listen”. I’ve had a couple opportunities to consciously put it into effect. These were times when I really wanted to chime in make a point, but told myself to shut up, sit back, and listen. It was a good choice. I’m going to keep trying.

All else continues apace. The regular stresses of life are with me every day, sometimes more so than others. Lately, my worry level has been through the roof. I’m starting to think I need to specifically address it through meditation, yoga, or some other stress-management technique.

Importantly, I’m still very happy to be sober. There’s just no substitute for waking up with a clear head and energy for the day. If I were drinking I don’t think I’d be able to do half what I’m doing these days, including my absolute favorite current activity: coaching my son’s Little League baseball team. Those boys run me ragged some days, but it really is a joy to be on a ballfield with a group of enthusiastic seven-year-olds.

Peace to you all.

Getting Closer

5 thoughts on “Getting Closer

    1. Ha! He would love a puppy, but I don’t think I could handle it. I’m thinking I’d do better with something that doesn’t poop. I like the idea of a piece of art. Oooh, or maybe a piece of furniture. I’ve always wanted an Eames chair, ridiculously pricey but maybe I’m worth it?

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment